THE CATHOLIC CHURCH IN CHARLEROI
Mary, Mother of the Church traces its roots back to 1888 when immigrants living in a settlement along the banks of the Monongahela River began holding Mass once a month, first in local homes, and later the Library Hall. By 1892, the congregation had grown so large that a new parish had to be formally established.
On property in the new community of Charleroi, located at what is now the Crest Avenue Playground, St. Jerome Church was built. For the next 10 years, the parish would serve the Catholic faithful who left their homelands to come to the Charleroi area to work in the glass and steel industries.
In 1902, Italian immigrants formed their own parish, Mother of Sorrows, and by the end of that year, Eastern European immigrants formed Saints Cyril & Methodius. In 1912, the members of Saint Jerome dedicated a new building at the corner of 7th Street and Washington Avenues. As the town grew, so did the churches with immigrants from Ireland, France, Germany and other nations finding faith and fellowship in the three parishes.
Change came 90 years later when the Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh underwent a reorganization, and three Charleroi parishes became one: Mary, Mother of the Church. In the 25 years since, the parish family united blending the best traditions of the three former parishes into a vibrant Catholic church community.